8 Reviews

Easy and delicious! Nice sticky texture. I was concerned that, because of the ratio of flavorings to rice, the flavor would be too strong, but it was just right. I used a mix of white and brown rice and the family could barely tell that there was brown rice in it (they're slowly coming around to the taste and texture of brown rice :))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 September 18, 2012

Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit November 09, 2008

Well, I've never been to London, and the Thai restaurants around Boston seem to serve plain Jasmine rice, but I love the idea of seasoning the rice! I use brown jasmine rice, and it did pick up the flavors from the aromatics. I will certainly be doing more of this in the future. I didn't give rating stars because I haven't yet figured out how to cook my rice very well, and I don't like the flavor as much as the white - but that's what our family eats. I also suspect white rice will pick up the flavors even more strongly:-). One thing - I am pretty sure sticky rice and jasmine rice are 2 different rice varieties altogether, and I was not sure which the cooking directions are for. So, anyway, Sackville, thanks for the super-easy idea for flavoring rick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorie's Lori May 29, 2007

This is one of those recipes that you slap yourself on the forehead and say why didn't I think of that. DH thought he was being served good old boring white rice and got an ever so pleasant surprise with the wonderful flavor of this rice. We especially appreciated the healthy preparation without any any added fats. I served it with Latchys Peppered Prawn and Leeks #71945 and it worked beautifully. Thank you Sackville Girl for sharing this simple and delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ December 06, 2005

Very easy and delicious! Had to skip the lemongrass though. My inlaws live in Thailand...guess I'll have to have them Fedx me some!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braden, Blake and Bren's Mom August 24, 2005

This was wonderful, SG...perfect texture, terrific flavor, and smelled sooo good while it was cooking. I served it with peanut beef and Spicy Thai Peanut Sauce #9388; added a few spring rolls on the side, marinated cucumbers, and a cup of hot tea...heaven! Thanks for a recipe I'll be using often! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki December 12, 2004

Easy and delicious, a recipe to tempt the taste buds. Seems I may have to grow Lemongrass if I wish to cook with it...found the dried worked well for me. This is a great recipe for rice lovers. Thanks for sharing. Gerry 999

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry July 22, 2004

I have to say I used this recipe more as a guideline, because I had made something similar before but couldn't remember my exact ingredients. I skipped the chile and had to use dried lemongrass (my first time using dried and I was impressed at how well it worked). I also added one star anise, which I love, and half a cinnamon stick. I really think Jasmine rice is the only kind for an aromatic recipe like this. Leftovers were great too. Paired with Green Onion Pancakes Green Onion Pancakes, 79216 Sichuan Pepper-Salt Prawns 37634 and Ginger Sesame Asparagus 79216.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gay Gilmore June 20, 2004
Aromatic Sticky Rice