Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thai / Asian Slaw With Spicy Thai Vinaigrette Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Asian Slaw With Spicy Thai Vinaigrette

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2011

      Loved this fresh new taste! I did not have the chili sauce and I left out the honey, but I added ground red pepper (hot) to the dressing and honey roasted peanuts to the slaw instead. I think I added more sesame oil to the dressing, because I love the taste. Had some frozen basil and some fresh cilantro--excellent addition to cabbages. This makes a huge batch--perfect for potlucks. If I had chow mein noodles, I think those would be a nice crunch too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      This is sooo flavorful and so easy to make. You can use a coleslaw mix from the grocery, but I like mixing it myself because I love napa cabbage and it's not included in a pre-mixed slaw mix. I like the idea of adding peanuts to the slaw and since I had plenty on hand - that's just what I did. This is great for a bbq or any family get-together. Made for ZWT9.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      We loved this slaw! This was a refreshing change from my normal vinaigrette or yogurt sauce to avoid mayo. I might double the fresh herbs in the future. For ZWT9

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      Made as written, but I halved it. This was a great blend of flavors and very easy to put together. Unfortunately, we didn't get to it the night I made it and ended up eating it the next day and so the napa cabbage was a little limp, but it was still quite edible. I think in the future I would add a tad more chili sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      This made a huge bowl of colorful and delicious slaw, featuring a great variety of flavors and textures playing in every bite. Despite the name, we didn't find it overly spicy, but just zippy enough to accentuate each of those other flavor notes. The dominant flavor, if there was one, would be the sesame oil, which is great because we love it. I'd like to have some light crisp crackers with it, I think. Although Asian in itself, this isn't limited to an Asian event; we followed it up with pesto and Italian sausage on linguine. As another reviewer suggested, this would be a great potluck dish. Made for ZWT9.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      Yes, this is the alternative to slaw. Who wants all that mayo when the weather is hot?<br/>Don't panic abut having all the ingredients. We left quite a few things out and it still turned out great- light and tasty and "more-ish". Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      Made this for Fall PAC 2012 and DH and I enjoyed this. We both thought it could have used a little more honey or brown sugar instead (maybe my honey was old). I cut this in half and followed the instructions adding more sesame seeds to the top of the salad. Served with Lemon Rice Pilaf#287218 and Asian Sesame Salmon#459584. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Oh I love this nice change slaw!! We have fresh cabbage growing in the garden, so I use only red/and green cabbage, but everything else stayed the say. I could of eaten (and I did) the dressing right off the spoon!! I also used the WHOLE 3 tablespoons of chili-garlic-sauce. YUM! Also I had a bunch of cilantro that needed to be used, so that turned in to about 1/4 cup of that. YUM! Will make this a lot, I loved the use of garden vegetables! Made for ZWT 6

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      I just did the vinaigrette as written, and used boy choi and carrots for the salad. The flavor balance was a little off for my taste, but I there's a lot of potential. I would use less chile. I think I would put the sesame seeds directly on the salad, not in the vinaigrette, and perhaps a bit of the mint and cilantro as well - their flavors seemed to get lost. It's definitely an easy make-ahead dressing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Even without the basil and cilantro (which I didn't have) and a bag of broccoli slaw, this was a light, flavorful twist on coleslaw. I will definitely make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I loved it but knew my family wouldn't go there. I added a few roasted peanuts to garnish. Yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Loved it! Went a little lighter on the chili-garlic sauce, other than that made as written. Thanks Sharon for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      Love it! Tastes just like the Applebees version to me, but I didn't have to pay $10 for a salad to enjoy it. I did use sugar instead of honey, since my little bear bottle was empty, but to me it tasted just like the restaurant version (I just put the 3 Tbsp of sugar in the rice vinegar and then heated in the microwave to help it dissolve quicker). Poured it over some ready-made cole slaw mix and toasted sunflower seeds, for a quick and delicious midnight snack :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      Delish! Didn't have napa cabbage so just used half green and half red. I added chopped peanuts just before serving. Made for ZWT 9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Asian Slaw With Spicy Thai Vinaigrette

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 236.0
     
    Calories from Fat 190
    80%
    Total Fat 21.1 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 47.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    chili-garlic sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites