12 Reviews

We really liked this dish both vegetarians and meat lovers, we would so make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar June 13, 2014

After reading the other reviews about not having enough sauce, here's what I did for 2 servings: Made the sauce as directed for the full recipe. Cooked 1 serving (55 grams) of rice noodles, and added to the sauce. Sauteed 1/4 cup edamame, 1 handful bean sprouts, 1/4 of a small red pepper, 1 sliced green onion, 4 small sliced cremini mushrooms, and 5 sliced snow peas in about a teaspoon of sesame oil; then added to the noodles and sauce. I had a bit of leftover cooked salmon in the fridge, so I flaked that and added to everything else. Topped the finished product with chopped cilantro. I really enjoyed the flavor of the sauce, it was nicely balanced between sweet and tart. I ended up with a bit more than I needed, so I'll likely make half a recipe of sauce next time for the amount of noodles and veggies I need for two servings. Overall, very tasty, and as mentioned in the note, a good way to use up bits of vegetables that are lurking in the fridge. A nice additional touch would be to add a bit of chile paste to the sauce, if you like to spice it up a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH July 05, 2011

This was pretty good, something I'll enjoy eating the leftovers of but probably won't make again. We had to quadruple the sauce recipe to get our noodles coated, it was kind of unwieldy to toss everything together -- I'd go back and make up separate plates, layering the veggies on the noodles, rather than tossing it all in a bowl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS November 15, 2010

I started off with this thinking I had all the ingredients on hand, only to find I hadn't. So it didn't end up being "edamame" lo mein, but delicious none the less with my veg substitutions. I always enjoy that lime/peanut combo, and this one is great - so quick and easy to put together, a nice weeknight meal. It did get a little dry for me when it all went together in the saute pan, maybe too many noodles, I think my package was more than 10 ounces. So as someone who loves sauce, I think I'd increase that next time (or decrease the noodles...cuz it really makes a lot!). I like the grated carrot in this, they kind of stick to the noodles instead of all falling to the bottom of the pan. Thanks Prose....I'm sure I'll be making this often!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner November 12, 2009

The sauce is really the star here - and being that I like it saucy, I doubled it. I followed JB's lead and added broccoli; I also upped the garlic and ginger. I threw in some flavoured/marinated tofu after I tossed it all together, for additional protein. This dish was great for me because I tried two things again that I'd not tried in a very long time - rice noodles (which I hadnt tried since boiling them once and not realizing until today that you're only supposed to soak them), and peanut butter in a stirfry sauce. I'm so glad you posted this, Prose - it's a winner! Made for Veggie Swap 16.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen November 08, 2009

Our family loves Edamame and loves chinese-style stir dries, but no one liked the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kalisheh April 15, 2009

Very nice dinner, indeed. The only changes I made were the addition of 2 more cloves of garlic, adding the 2 T of chopped cilantro into the dressing mix, subbed lo mein noodles for the rice noodles and added some broccoli as I tend to like more veggies than noodles. Can't wait to try the leftovers cold tomorrow for lunch. Made for VEG*N Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride April 13, 2009

Perfect! We used soba noodles (buckwheat) instead of the rice noodles, and lessened the ginger to 1/4 teaspoon powdered. Also, instead of grating the zucchini & carrots, we julienned. Had some Morningstar Farms ginger & teriyaki veggie cakes in the freezer, and made those to go on top of the noodles. It was the perfect pairing. All in all, a tasty meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet April 03, 2009

I've made this several times....didn't realize I hadn't reviewed it. I love it. Personally I like extra sauce so I make extra. I've always substituted whatever veggies I have on hand and it always turns out great. It's a great recipe for using up all of the garden bounty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Littlemotherhaywood March 29, 2009
Edamame Lo Mein