Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thai / Edamame Lo Mein Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Edamame Lo Mein

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2014

      We really liked this dish both vegetarians and meat lovers, we would so make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      After reading the other reviews about not having enough sauce, here's what I did for 2 servings: Made the sauce as directed for the full recipe. Cooked 1 serving (55 grams) of rice noodles, and added to the sauce. Sauteed 1/4 cup edamame, 1 handful bean sprouts, 1/4 of a small red pepper, 1 sliced green onion, 4 small sliced cremini mushrooms, and 5 sliced snow peas in about a teaspoon of sesame oil; then added to the noodles and sauce. I had a bit of leftover cooked salmon in the fridge, so I flaked that and added to everything else. Topped the finished product with chopped cilantro. I really enjoyed the flavor of the sauce, it was nicely balanced between sweet and tart. I ended up with a bit more than I needed, so I'll likely make half a recipe of sauce next time for the amount of noodles and veggies I need for two servings. Overall, very tasty, and as mentioned in the note, a good way to use up bits of vegetables that are lurking in the fridge. A nice additional touch would be to add a bit of chile paste to the sauce, if you like to spice it up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This was pretty good, something I'll enjoy eating the leftovers of but probably won't make again. We had to quadruple the sauce recipe to get our noodles coated, it was kind of unwieldy to toss everything together -- I'd go back and make up separate plates, layering the veggies on the noodles, rather than tossing it all in a bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I started off with this thinking I had all the ingredients on hand, only to find I hadn't. So it didn't end up being "edamame" lo mein, but delicious none the less with my veg substitutions. I always enjoy that lime/peanut combo, and this one is great - so quick and easy to put together, a nice weeknight meal. It did get a little dry for me when it all went together in the saute pan, maybe too many noodles, I think my package was more than 10 ounces. So as someone who loves sauce, I think I'd increase that next time (or decrease the noodles...cuz it really makes a lot!). I like the grated carrot in this, they kind of stick to the noodles instead of all falling to the bottom of the pan. Thanks Prose....I'm sure I'll be making this often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      The sauce is really the star here - and being that I like it saucy, I doubled it. I followed JB's lead and added broccoli; I also upped the garlic and ginger. I threw in some flavoured/marinated tofu after I tossed it all together, for additional protein. This dish was great for me because I tried two things again that I'd not tried in a very long time - rice noodles (which I hadnt tried since boiling them once and not realizing until today that you're only supposed to soak them), and peanut butter in a stirfry sauce. I'm so glad you posted this, Prose - it's a winner! Made for Veggie Swap 16.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Our family loves Edamame and loves chinese-style stir dries, but no one liked the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Very nice dinner, indeed. The only changes I made were the addition of 2 more cloves of garlic, adding the 2 T of chopped cilantro into the dressing mix, subbed lo mein noodles for the rice noodles and added some broccoli as I tend to like more veggies than noodles. Can't wait to try the leftovers cold tomorrow for lunch. Made for VEG*N Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Perfect! We used soba noodles (buckwheat) instead of the rice noodles, and lessened the ginger to 1/4 teaspoon powdered. Also, instead of grating the zucchini & carrots, we julienned. Had some Morningstar Farms ginger & teriyaki veggie cakes in the freezer, and made those to go on top of the noodles. It was the perfect pairing. All in all, a tasty meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I've made this several times....didn't realize I hadn't reviewed it. I love it. Personally I like extra sauce so I make extra. I've always substituted whatever veggies I have on hand and it always turns out great. It's a great recipe for using up all of the garden bounty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

    • on October 08, 2008

      I was skeptical when I poured the sauce on as it didn't seem enough, but on the first bite I was hooked. This was really GOOD! The peanut butter and garlic blend so nicely and the veggies give nice crunch. I scaled it down for one serving since DH is out of town, and it made a fairly substantial meal. I subbed broccoli for the bean sprouts as I didn't have any on hand, and lo mein noodles for the rice noodles. I also added a scrambled egg white because I tend to enjoy an egg garnish at restaurants. I did sprinkle on a bit more Braggs, but I tend to like things pretty salty. i also used crunchy peanut butter and I think it really added a nice texture. Thanks for posting; this is a keeper! Made for Healthy Choices 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      My husband and daughter really liked these. I used veggies that I had on hand and this recipe adapted very well to that. After tasting, I decided to add some oyster sauce, for personal preference. This also reheated well for lunches the next day. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Edamame Lo Mein

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 356.2
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    21%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 131.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 15.0 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Braggs liquid aminos

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes