8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was an unexpected hit! I didn't have sherry, so I subbed apple juice. Made for ZWT 9

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl August 26, 2013

I never ate eggplant before. I bought some Thai eggplant at the farmers market and decided to give this recipe a try. The eggplant was nice and tender, the sauce was tasty but I just wasn't thrill about eggplant. I'm not going to rate this recipe because it just wasn't for me but I think other people would enjoy the taste of this nice sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 September 08, 2012

Oh, this was fabulous! I loved how the eggplant didn't get mushy, but was just the right tenderness. The flavors were incredible. I made this just as written and I garnished with sesame seeds and extra scallions. Thanx for sharing this. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* May 01, 2010

When I saw this recipe it reminded me of Japanese eggplant recipe using miso, a bit of mirin, sake, soy sauce, ginger, garlic, green onion and also stir fried, so I knew I wanted to try this recipe. The only difference with this recipe was addition of vinegar and hot pepper. This was delicious and the flavor right on! Since I did not have enough eggplant, I also used half zucchini and that worked out really well. Zucchini kept the form and firmness better than eggplant which gave this recipe counterbalance to softer eggplant. This dish goes really well with steamed white rice! Wonderful! Thanks Sharon123 for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori January 07, 2009

Very nice. Complex, excellent flavor(s). I think I prefer my eggplant a little more "done" than the volume of eggplant and the stirfry time here allows. But it's delightful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT June 16, 2008

This was a fabulous flavorful dish, even for those whom don't love eggplant!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba May 02, 2008

I needed to use up a ton of Chinese eggplant that I had purchased at the farmer's market. While Thai in name, this recipe did remind me of a side that you could get at a Chinese restaurant. While I love eggplant and the sauce is thick and rich, I just did not love this as much as I expected (though this is likely my own personal taste and no fault of the dish). I served with Thai stuffed bell peppers. Made for Zaar Stars Fall 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny September 23, 2013

This is awesome! It reminds me of the eggplant with garlic sauce at a local Chinese restaurant. Thanks for sharing, Sharon123.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott September 07, 2013
Eggplant Thai Stir Fry