14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was about to post this same recipe I got from a cooking class I took. I make it all the time, and it is wonderful! I use the coriander root ( cilantro stem ) in the marinade and the cilantro leaf and stalk for the sauce. I also make extra sauce and put in thinly sliced cucumbers to serve along with the chicken and steamed sticky rice

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dbuoy June 22, 2009

This was so simple, but definately not lacking in the flavor department. The chili's in the marinade really let it stand apart the crowd. I left the sugar out of the marinade also (dh doesn't like sweet foods). I got tons of rave reviews on this one. Thanks KitchenMajic! My husband is already asking me to make again tomorrow for some more friends ;))

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rani kuppusamy September 06, 2003

Wonderfully easy, this is a great, weekend grill dish. I made as is and added the salt, garlic, chilies and cilantro to the sauce after it thickened. Terrific recipe KitchenManiac, it's added to our list of regulars, thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude August 09, 2003

Delicious! This has a tangy sauce that is similar to a sweet-sour but on the spicy side, with an edge of garlic, and a hint of coriander. Very simple to make, and an excellent grill dish. I will definitely make this dish again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau August 08, 2003

You either love coriander, or you hate it! I love it! This was such a simple supper to make. I left the fish sauce and the sugar out of the marinade (diet time) and mixed it up in the morning, leaving the chicken breasts to marinate in the fridge all day. Came home from work and just whacked the chicken on my cast iron stove-top grill. The sauce took about 10 seconds to whizz around in the food processor, and then I thickened it over heat. I brought some in for lunch today, and I'm getting hungry just thinking about it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj May 13, 2003

I was underwhelmed by this dish. The sauce was only passable. However, using Peanut Sauce blended with the chicken much better than the sauce with this reciepe. Keep the marinade, toss the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
King Jay II March 27, 2012

Thanks for the EASY & delicious recipe KitchenManiac! My husband loved the fresh flavors of the cilantro on the chicken and the tangy kick from the sauce. I substituted lime juice for fish sauce and red pepper flakes for red chiles, and the flavors were still great! I also added a splash of soy sauce to the sauce for color. Will definitely make again...YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queendawnita July 14, 2009

Outstanding! LOVED the sauce, however mine never thickened. I cooked it for quite some time and it just wouldn't thicken up; usually Thai sauces are watery though so we enjoyed as it was. The directions are unclear as to when to add the chilies and cilantro. I added the chilies at the beginning then cilantro at the end, whew did it pack a punch. Excellent recipe and will definitely make again. Also warning, this definitely creates an unpleasant aroma when cooking the sauce so my suggestion is if making for company make the sauce a day ahead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT November 09, 2007

I remember my host parents made this often and I really liked it. I missed that so I made this tonight. My share mates also tried and all of them liked it!! Thank you so much!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomoko matsunaga August 11, 2007
Grilled Chicken With Coriander/Cilantro Sauce