8 Reviews

Delicious! I'm just starting to try some Thai foods and this was very good. I even had the fish sauce already and had never used it! The dressing is the best part. I added some chopped cilantro, which was really, really tasty (give it a try, I think you'd like it!). I also toosed the chopped steak with a little more soy sauce to give it some extra flavor. Thanks for posting this!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinBOberrin February 16, 2002

I followed the recipe exactly but my onion was a little overwhelming. I think when I make this again -(and I will) - I will reduce the amount of onion. Other than that this is a quick and easy recipe that "hits the spot'.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianne in Arkansas February 26, 2003

I made a very fast version of this with sliced deli roast beef, and it still turned out delish. Works great for lunches to grab and take to work! I love the tangy-sweet combo, and it really satisfied my cravings for a good Thai dish.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gnat! April 05, 2002

We loved this! The thai steak salad is one of my favorite low carb treats at our local Thai haunt. This recipe had the flavors spot on. I added lots of cilantro and green onion on top. Yummy.

I noticed that some reviewers were overwhelmed by the raw onion taste. A trick I learned somewhere is to scrub your sliced onion with salt, let sit, and then rinse in cold water. It really tempers the flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelseaW December 28, 2011

This has got to be one of my ABSOLUTE favourite dishes, I quite often buy thai beef salads at resturants but this is definatly better than any i have tasted. TY Dancer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aleigha Nicole April 21, 2010

After reading the other reviews I added cilantro as well as mint to my salad. I was making this for a potluck so I added soaked rice noodles, drained, increased the volume of the vegetables and steak and tripled the dressing using some rice wine vinegar, chopped lemongrass, red chili pepper paste and a little oil to make the dressing cling better. A definite hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maureen McFarlane August 28, 2009

Just perfect! Made for a dinner party & was quite a hit. I also made thinly sliced tofu sauteed in sesame oil and added to the beef w/ the sauce - excellent flavor, easy to prepare, nice presentation, a winner to be sure! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msmia November 04, 2007

This is an excellent summer salad; it has a very light & refreshing taste from the lime juice, but it's satisying because of the steak. I used flank steak instead of sirloin tip and I added fresh cilantro (about 1/4 c) as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeAnna Owens August 14, 2006
Low-Fat Thai Steak Salad