Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thai / Steamed Eggs (Kai Meung) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steamed Eggs (Kai Meung)

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2013

      I was nervous doing my eggs this way and could forsee myself having an eggy mess but not so. I used a metal steamer as I don't have a bamboo one. I did bring the eggs to room temp before steaming and then waited out 20 minutes prior to peeling and all the shells came away really easily.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      I love this technique for hard cooked eggs. So easy and the eggs were much easier to peel. I cooked six eggs (three of them I bought two weeks ago and three were fresh). I put them in my bamboo steamer and steamed them for 14 minutes. To my delight, I found that the fresh eggs peeled as easily as the older eggs. Normally when I hard boil fresh eggs I end up peeling small chunks off of the egg. They don't look very appetizing and it is very frustrating peeling them. After steaming the eggs for 14 minutes, I placed the eggs under cold running water. This is the way I am doing all of my hard cooked eggs from now on. Thanks, Peter, for sharing this great recipe. Made for January 2013 Aus/NZ Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      Thanks to *Tinkerbell* for demoing this recipe. I now have a new favorite way to boil my eggs. Worked wonderfully. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2014

      A very nice fool proof way of cooking an egg. No need to prick the shell to stop them bursting and the cooked white is very soft and delicate. The cooking and cooling times very perfect. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap May 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      I have now boiled eggs, baked them and steamed them. The eggs did seem easier to peel and to be more tender. I used a steamer insert over boiling water. The yolk was cooked through after 12 minutes with a few minutes standing time. I will have to try this again and see if they are soft boiled after 10 minutes. Made for Aussie Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      What a GREAT technique! Tried it and will go to this versus usual ten minute boil. Thanks, Peter J! Made for Aussie Kiwi Recipe Swap #80.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      This girl be cooking and cleaning and cleaning and cooking, but never cooked eggs this way before and they came out perfect at 12 minutes. Goes ta show ya, there's still room in this big ole world for a pleasant surprise. Made for AZ/N #80 Recipe Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Thanks to Connie Lea's recommendation, I've made this recipe twice now. The first time just to test the recipe, and the second to take photos for a photo demo in the Gadgets Forum, as I've finally found a use my silicone veggie steamer! I've tried dozens of methods for hard-cooking eggs and several have been good for easy peeling, but this recipe is far superior in the final product. Most recipes tend to overcook the eggs, even just slightly, leaving various stages of gray rings around the yolk. This recipe, made as written, cooked the eggs perfectly, and with no sign of overcooking. I am so pleased with this recipe that I have to share it with as many chefs as I can! Thanks for posting it, Peter! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      This is amazing. I've tried them twice - once in a steamer basket over boiling water. While this is faster, I prefer cooking them in my rice cooker/steamer as I can put thim in and forget. I don't let them cool the 15 minutes - just run cold water on them and peel. I can't believe how easy it is to peel. I'm going to tell my sister-in-law. She once threw out a dozen eggs because they wouldn't peel without taking half the egg with them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      I cooked 4 eggs, for 12 minutes, using my veggie steamer in a pan. Two eggs I took out right away and immersed them into ice water. I needed them for An Egg on the Ritz (If you'd like to see a photo of the eggs you can go to that recipe) Then the 3rd egg was cracked, so I peeled and ate it right on the spot. Egg # 3 peeled nicely and had no discoloration around the yolk and the yolk was perfect. The 4th was left in the pan waiting to test it as stated in Step 4. Happy to announce, all the eggs were perfect! Made for Recipe Swap #62 Australian/New Zealand Cooking game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      Good method. I set the timer and walked away to do other things. Came back and they were cool enough to work with. I did approx 11 min

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      Thank you so very much for posting this recipe. Been wanting to try it with our fresh eggs we get from our 'backyard babes'. Fresh eggs are near impossible to peal. I used my stove top vegie steamer, did one dozen I had saved for approx. one week. They came out perfect. Then....I did 4 eggs that were layed yesterday as an experiment....perfect! Unbelievable! I had all the eggs deviled, ready for the dinner table in less than one hour. Also, steamed them for 12 minutes like you did. The yolks kept their pretty sunshiny yellow-orange color, oh so pretty and sssooo delicious! Need to check your your other recipes! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Very easy to peel eggs! My yoke turned a bit green though :-/ I love that I can set my steamer timer and do other things without having to stand and watch the clock. I'm going to start tweaking this to fit my needs. Thanks for the brilliant idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      I have mixed feelings about these. It uses more energy than my usual method, and I didn't notice a lot of difference in the texture of the eggs. But they didn't crack, and were very easy to peel. This is a good way to make eggs when appearance is important. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      OK, I'm officially a convert to this (new for me) way of hard-cooking eggs. The eggs were perfect - and no rubbery, over-cooked white or green-ringed yolk. I make a lot of deviled eggs in the summer and this is definitely the way I'll be going. Thanks for posting this keeper recipe, Peter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      This was great! The yolk seemed fluffier and the white didn't have that rubbery texture you get from boiling. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      This is the way to "boil" eggs. It works beautifully and the eggs are perfectly cooked and their tenderness was a surprise. I use a stove top steamer as I did not get consistent results with the electric ones. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Tried to experiment on this method tonight. It works! The egg yolks even look softer :) Thanks for sharing! Made for Aus Recipe Swap #26.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Interesting.....but not so good. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Wow, I never thought steaming the eggs could make them so much better! The texture was phenomenal; the yolk was so creamy and had none of the greyish discolouration that often occurs with boiling. Wonderful method^^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steamed Eggs (Kai Meung)

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.8
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    59%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 327.3 mg
    109%
    Sodium 124.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites