Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thai / Thai Beef Pitas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Beef Pitas

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2013

      Very easy (but lots of slicing!) and very satisfying. This recipe has one foot in Europe and one in Southeast Asia, but the combination works. Specifying Romaine lettuce struck me as culturally out of place, but I would not change it: the distinctive flavor of Romaine was one of the important notes in the whole mix. You can even wrap some of the meat mixture in a lettuce leaf and eat that, taco-style, without the pita! We loved it. Made for ZWT9 Family Picks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      This was very good and oh-so-easy to make! I ate it with some thai noodles (recipe #4131220) and it was delicious! Made for ZWT9.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Great flavorful recipe! I left out the onions and cilantro, otherwise made as directed. Loved the lime in the peanut sauce and the crushed red pepper - great flavor combination. Great in a pita and as a lettuce wrap - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for Spring Pick-A-Chef 2013

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      This was great! Made it just as is but with no cilantro (just because I hate it) and used a bag of frozen peppers and onions instead of fresh. Easy and yummy! Gets 5 stars from me!! Thanks SusieD

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      This is a 5+ star recipe because the flavor is outstanding! We served them in pitas but it would be fantastic in lettuce or just on rice. It is jumping right into my Best of 2010 cookbook! Made for ZWT #6 and I'm a Quisine Queen.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      Great recipe...my hubby and I enjoy it..hope for more recipes like these one :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Will make this again! Something different and quick to fix for dinner. Everyone in my family gobbled this up including the boys who don't eat red bell peppers. Don't sub the red peppers, by the way. They're a wonderful addition for color, taste, and nutrition, with just the right amount of sweetness. I used extra fresh minced ginger and garlic. Honestly, I wasnt sure I'd like ground beef instead of something like flank steak, but it was very good. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      Awesome recipe! I used extra chucky peanut butter and it was great. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      I thought this was really good, but DH and DS didn't like the peanut butter. I only put in 1 T of PB because I thought that would happen. I also used thin strips of leftover steak instead of ground beef and matchstick-size carrots instead of peppers. No one here likes peppers. Served on tortillas. Next time - no PB.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      It's been a while I wanted to try this recipe. I was reticent to try peanut butter in it but it has a nice taste. I used italian parsley instead of cilantro. This is very good and I'll do it again cause it's so easy and a great meal. It could be great also with rice. Thanks Susie :) Made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Oh I loved this!!!! Added a little more soy and served on whole romaine leaves. So very good!!! And fast....will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      This is a great dish with either pitas or lettuce leaves. You can save a few calories by using 93/7 ground turkey. Everything else is just about right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      My husband and I enjoyed this meal! I would cut back on the red pepper flakes to about 1/2 teaspoon, as it is pretty hot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

    • on May 04, 2009

      Awesome! I was looking for a new way to use the groundbeef I had in the fridge and tumbled upon this recipe! I didnt have green onions so I used a regular onion and cooked it in with the ground beef, didnt have cilantro on hand so I used fresh mint, used a lemon instead of a lime (again didnt have one in the fridge) and used only a couple drops of seasame oil because I'm not too wild about the seasame oil taste, and it turned out terrific! Boyfriend loved it as well! Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      It takes no time to put together but tastes great! We all like this so much for a mid-week meal. If I don't have pita pockets on hand, we use tortillas and eat it like a wrap. Thanks Susie for a yummy, and quick, treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      I made this for the first time tonight and my husband and I loved it! I had to sub ginger paste instead of fresh and canola oil instead of sesame. I think the fresh cilantro and green onions were so flavorful that all together, it still tasted so good. My husband wants this once a week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Very flavorful and yummy! Changes I made were I used 1 red bell pepper, 3/4 teaspoon ground ginger, 1/4 cup cilantro, and 1 1/2 tablespoons chunky PB. It turned out great and was a really nice, healthy dinner with lots of spice and flavor. It was not too spicy, but was just right. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      I have made this twice now and love it. Instead of pitas, though, I used lettuce for my wrap. This time, I had to sub some ground ginger for fresh, but it was still great. We wrap up with carrots, mung bean sprouts and the instead of cooking the red pepper, we keep it raw to roll up in the wrap. Wonderful sauce, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      Another one of my PAC 07 choices. Turned out great. I only used 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes but followed the rest as is. Great recipe Susie :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Beef Pitas

    Serving Size: 1 (290 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 501.8
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    39%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 959.8 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 33.1 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites