Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thai / Thai Fragrant Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Fragrant Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2003

      This is the new favorite at our house! Each spoonful brings a new combination of flavors and textures. And it's too! I've made it a few times now and have substituted lemon zest for the lemon grass, and hot sauce (to taste) or dried chilies in place of the Thai peppers. I've also added shrimp- which was awesome! My favorite way to serve this is to unmold a 1/2 cup of sticky rice in a soup bowl, spoon the soup in around it and garnish with some fresh cilantro and a lime wedge. Add a sprinkling of fried shallot over the "island" of rice and it looks beautiful! Thanks Sue L for such a wonderful soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      Tasty soup. I reduced garlic to 3 Tbsp and used 4 cubes of bouillon 6 cups of water for the stock. I didn't have red chilies so I added 2 tbsp of Sriracha sauce instead. I omitted lime juice because there's vinegar in the Sriracha sauce that already added the sourness to the soup. Besides that I didn't have to adjust the seasoning too much (just 1 more tbsp of light soy sauce). I also used only 1 tbsp of basil. The soup was a bit too oily for me so next time I will reduce the oil to 1-1.5 tbsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      YUM! had this 2 nights in a row...the first night had on the side with steamed halibut & cocount rice and the second night we threw in some shrimp and had alone. i did add some ginger and cilantro since i had extra from the fish and sambal oelek instead of thai peppers. defnate keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Good soup, I added some diced chicken breast and replaced regular cabbage with bok-choi. I also added some fresh cilantro at the end. I'm giving it 4 stars beacause the seasonings need to be adjusted a lot, I used more soy sause and it still needed more salt. I also ended up putting some more red pepper flakes for some more heat. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      Great soup, I'll try it with a little ginger next time too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      This was fantastic. We loved the flavors! I'll be making this a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Wonderful! This was just delightful, particularly on a day as cold and snowy as today. I made this pretty much as written, except I threw in a tablespoon of grated ginger root, and a cup or so of frozen sweet white corn. (Oh, and some baby bok choy.) And I didn't have fish sauce in the house so I substituted worcestshire sauce plus a glop of anchovy paste ... and that seemed to work out well. The soup was delightfully flavored, with no particular flavor overpowering the others. A definite keeper -- thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Deeeelicious! A wonderful vegetarian (or almost--you can exchange the broth for a veggie one) soup that is not the same old normal stuff you usually think of. This reminds me of a soup that they serve before lunch at one of the Thai places here in town. Kick up the heat if you have a cold like I do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Easy and satisfying! Followed the recipe exactly with the addition of chopped cilantro along with the basil. Great recipe for my "no meat" days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      I honestly can not describe to you how flavorful this soup was! I made it just like the recipe and the vegetable amount as well as the seasoning was dead on. It makes a wonderful side dish, but I imagine with meat in it (which we will eventually try) it would be a fabulous main dish! This little gem will be served over and over at our house. Thank you so much for posting your recipe, we enjoyed it very much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Fragrant Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.4
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    45%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1073.5 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh lemongrass

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes