11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the new favorite at our house! Each spoonful brings a new combination of flavors and textures. And it's too! I've made it a few times now and have substituted lemon zest for the lemon grass, and hot sauce (to taste) or dried chilies in place of the Thai peppers. I've also added shrimp- which was awesome! My favorite way to serve this is to unmold a 1/2 cup of sticky rice in a soup bowl, spoon the soup in around it and garnish with some fresh cilantro and a lime wedge. Add a sprinkling of fried shallot over the "island" of rice and it looks beautiful! Thanks Sue L for such a wonderful soup.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex February 20, 2003

I LOVE this soup! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding 5 dried Thai red chili peppers because I couldn't find fresh ones. Thank you for posting, I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookn4mytwins January 25, 2015

Tasty soup. I reduced garlic to 3 Tbsp and used 4 cubes of bouillon 6 cups of water for the stock. I didn't have red chilies so I added 2 tbsp of Sriracha sauce instead. I omitted lime juice because there's vinegar in the Sriracha sauce that already added the sourness to the soup. Besides that I didn't have to adjust the seasoning too much (just 1 more tbsp of light soy sauce). I also used only 1 tbsp of basil. The soup was a bit too oily for me so next time I will reduce the oil to 1-1.5 tbsp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp January 19, 2011

YUM! had this 2 nights in a row...the first night had on the side with steamed halibut & cocount rice and the second night we threw in some shrimp and had alone. i did add some ginger and cilantro since i had extra from the fish and sambal oelek instead of thai peppers. defnate keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catalinacrawler April 07, 2010

Good soup, I added some diced chicken breast and replaced regular cabbage with bok-choi. I also added some fresh cilantro at the end. I'm giving it 4 stars beacause the seasonings need to be adjusted a lot, I used more soy sause and it still needed more salt. I also ended up putting some more red pepper flakes for some more heat. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arichka January 25, 2009

Great soup, I'll try it with a little ginger next time too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO September 12, 2008

This was fantastic. We loved the flavors! I'll be making this a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN July 28, 2008

Wonderful! This was just delightful, particularly on a day as cold and snowy as today. I made this pretty much as written, except I threw in a tablespoon of grated ginger root, and a cup or so of frozen sweet white corn. (Oh, and some baby bok choy.) And I didn't have fish sauce in the house so I substituted worcestshire sauce plus a glop of anchovy paste ... and that seemed to work out well. The soup was delightfully flavored, with no particular flavor overpowering the others. A definite keeper -- thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts February 22, 2008

Deeeelicious! A wonderful vegetarian (or almost--you can exchange the broth for a veggie one) soup that is not the same old normal stuff you usually think of. This reminds me of a soup that they serve before lunch at one of the Thai places here in town. Kick up the heat if you have a cold like I do!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pikake21 February 20, 2008

Easy and satisfying! Followed the recipe exactly with the addition of chopped cilantro along with the basil. Great recipe for my "no meat" days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divalicious *808* June 24, 2007
Thai Fragrant Vegetable Soup