10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love thai food and this recipe very much!
I used fresh pineapple, thai-basil and only a pinch sugar. DELICIOUS! Thanks for this recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde April 02, 2011

i have made similar recipes, the coconut milk, sambal olek, fish sauce and lime are the standard ingredients but the pineapple is a nice addition, adds a hint of sweetness. i only used a pinch of sugar and found that to be enough. nice easy dinner

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia May 28, 2003

I would give this 6 stars if i could!! wow, I made my own red curry paste to add to this recipe. Such a great balance of flavors. I didnt change much to the recipe other than added a bit more red curry paste because I like to have it hot. Thank you

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gem's June 14, 2011

Served this for guests last night, everyone loved it, hubby felt it was a four star. However, I am not a prawn lover, and I tried one of the prawns and thought it was really beautiful. So for the guests' response and my own, I'm giving it five stars, as I had to use the suggested subs of soy for fish sauce, and brown sugar for palm sugar, and Fiji was out of kaffir lime leaves.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RubberDucky AU October 21, 2009

Great curry, I substituted the coconut milk for Carnation evaporated milk with a dash of coconut essence as a less fattening option, also put in some chopped spring onions (scallions)& coriander(cilantro) with the lime leaves & chilli. Awesome!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bagsnbeads August 28, 2008

Sadly I cannot report such glory! I really should have read the reviews first! I made the dish to the recipe down pat but my family found it too sweet! Next time, (once they have forgotten), I shall definitely take into account all the advice below! As for me!!! I loved it and they could have just left it all for me anyway! Thank you!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Estelle V. June 30, 2014

my dh (who never goes beyond "it's fine...) said this was as good as any restaurant! wohoo!!! it really was great, BUT the red curry paste i used must have been WAY too hot, i'd probably use only 1 tsp next time. really great - rita, you should try it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollywall April 27, 2009

I changed this recipe so much that I don't think I should really be giving it any stars, since I didn't follow it very well, but it was too good not to. First off I used tofu instead of shrimp and marinated it in soy sauce and lime juice- I think next time I will try coconut milk. I added carrots, celery, zucchini, mushrooms, and nappa cabbage too. I also used some left over canned tomatoes. I had to improvise a little with the curry paste- I didn't have any and my mom is a bit of a wimp, so I cut back on it and added some extra curry powder, coriander, and lime juice. Left out the chili pepper and subbed some lime juice for the leaves. Threw in about a tablespoon orange peel and some ginger too. It was so fabulous this way and I'm sure it would be just as great the original way too. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simonich May 06, 2008

Wonderful recipe Rita!! As aways, you have a winner here. I did substitute regular ol' shrimp for the prawns and left out the kaffir lime leaf. I loved the sweetness of the pineapple with the heat from the curry paste (I only used 1 tbsp - I learned from passed experience with the paste I have that I am wimpier than I thought). It was a simple recipe to make and was enjoyed over some basmati rice. I did remove the shells from the shrimp before I added to the pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 March 06, 2006

This was excellent. I had to make a few ingredient changes due to availability, but it was still really good. I'll have to play with the peppers to get the heat right for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebburtis October 31, 2004
Thai Prawn And Pineapple Curry, "Kaeng Khua Saparot"